Honor Credit Union Fetes 40 in 10th Annual Teacher Awards

If you ever wondered about the desire of the teaching community to do everything possible for their young charges, wonder no longer. We all got a prime example of above and beyond this fall when Honor Credit Union tossed down the gauntlet inviting teachers in the 24 communities where they have member centers to craft essays on what they would do with an extra $100 for their classroom or school. They go nearly 600 responses, and 40 have been selected as winners.

Honor Credit Union’s team says they are thrilled to announce the winners of their 10th Annual Teacher Awards, saying that after a difficult blind selection process, team members selected 40 winners who each received $100 to use in their classroom or school.

Entrants submitted a short essay explaining how they would use the money to better educate their students. Almost 600 submissions were received throughout Honor’s 24 local member center communities. The winners were selected based on their submission and classroom needs. The 10th Annual Teacher Award winners are:

  • Elise Millmier (Allegan Public Schools)
  • Julie Ziemelis (Allegan Public Schools)
  • Lindsay Bannatyne (Allegan Public Schools)
  • Mark Meyers (Bangor Public Schools)
  • Terrin Boe (Battle Creek Public Schools)
  • Laura McWethy (Battle Creek Public Schools)
  • Andrea Lemon (Berrien RESA)
  • Mica Borden (Berrien Springs Public Schools)
  • Lynne Listenberger (Brandywine Community Schools)
  • Jillian Klunder (Bridgman Public Schools)
  • Jessica Leenhouts (Buchanan Community Schools)
  • Katherine Cattes (Coloma Community School District)
  • Kathy Hollacher (Countryside Academy)
  • Pam Baker (Covert Public Schools)
  • Molly Dobberstein (Decatur Public Schools)
  • Karen Nuckels (Decatur Public Schools)
  • Alicia Stout (Dowagiac Union Schools)
  • Debora Barber (Dowagiac Union Schools)
  • May Reed (Eau Claire Public Schools)
  • Amanda Kainulainen (Gwinn Area Community Schools)
  • Kaitlin Rich (Ishpeming Public Schools)
  • Heidi Ellis (Kalamazoo Public Schools)
  • Johnette Kurina (Lake Michigan Catholic)
  • Loni Fleming (Lakeview School District)
  • Jesse Kainulainen (Marquette Area Public Schools)
  • Lori Shivley (Marshall Public Schools)
  • Jacob Schmeltzer (Negaunee Public Schools)
  • Jodi Johnson (Negaunee Public Schools)
  • Heather Sokoloski (Otsego Public Schools)
  • Melissa Garrett (Otsego Public Schools)
  • Lisa Koop (Portage Public Schools)
  • Terri Adriance (Portage Public Schools)
  • Jennifer Longardner (Quincy Community Schools)
  • Tina King (Redwood Elementary School)
  • Rose Montie (River Valley School District)
  • Kristin Morlock (Riverside Hagar #6 School)
  • Michelle Kubath (St. Paul’s Lutheran Church and School)
  • Laura Chang (Vicksburg Community Schools)
  • Sawyer Duncan (Vicksburg Community Schools)
  • Jess Swackhamer (Village SDA School)

Honor Credit Union is committed to staying true to its roots in supporting local schools and teachers, and the Annual Teacher Awards is just one of the many ways Honor gives back throughout the year. The 11th Annual Teacher Awards will begin in August of 2020. To learn more about Honor’s involvement in the schools, you can click the link below:

Your content continues below


In the photo accompanying this story on Moody on the Market, Lynne Listenberge from Merritt Elementary School in the Brandywine School District receives the check from Honor Credit Union’s Community Assistant VP Karol Behrle.