NWS Upgrades Current System to Winter Storm Warning

The National Weather Service in Northwest Indiana is ratcheting our storm forecast up a notch or two taking what had been a watch to a warning. They have issued a Winter Storm Warning for the period running from 9pm tonight to 2pm tomorrow.

Officials in the National Weather Service office say, “We continue to refine the forecast for the approaching winter storm expected to sweep across the Midwest starting tonight. Differences in system evolution has resulted in adjustments to the forecast snowfall. We continue to expect 4 to 7 inches of snow across the area, but the location of the highest amounts has shifted from south and east of US 24 to north of I-80. Drifting and blowing snow is still expected to result in hazardous driving conditions throughout the day on Saturday with windy northeast wind gusts of 30 to 35 mph. This may make it more difficult for plow crews to keep roadways cleared; especially on east-west roadways. Please continue to monitor for forecast updates.”

Here’s the body of the Winter Storm Warning:

Winter Storm Warning in effect from 9 PM EST /8 PM CST/ this evening to 2 PM EST /1 PM CST/ Saturday.

ADVERTISEMENT
Your content continues below

Moderate to heavy snow expected along with gusty northeast winds and significant blowing and drifting snow. Total snow accumulations of 4 to 7 inches expected, with locally higher amounts possible throughout portions of Northern Indiana and Southwest Michigan

From 9 PM EST /8 PM CST/ this evening to 5 PM EST /4 PM   CST/ Saturday.

Snow will overspread the area later this evening and continue into early Saturday afternoon before   tapering late Saturday afternoon.

Moderate to heavy snow, combined with gusty northeast winds to 30 mph Saturday and early Saturday evening will create hazardous travel conditions due to blowing and drifting and reduced visibilities.

The heaviest snow is expected from late this evening through mid-morning Saturday.    

A Winter Storm Warning for snow means severe winter weather conditions will make travel very hazardous or impossible.

If you must travel, keep an extra flashlight, food and water in your vehicle in case of an emergency.